Congratulations to a group of talented and hardworking students

Convocation 2019

BA student Noelle Viger as the reader for the ceremony on June 7th

At this year’s convocation ceremony on June 7th, the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies faculty and staff were happy to see nine masters and doctoral students, sixty Bachelor of Arts students, and fifteen Bachelor of Fine Arts students cross the stage.

“The Dean’s office and the entire FCCS faculty and staff are extremely proud of the year’s graduating students.  After many years of hard work and determination, ups and downs, our students crossed the stage at convocation, each and every one of them baring a radiant smile of success.” Says Marianne Legault, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies for FCCS.

After the ceremony, a reception was held in the Creative and Critical Studies building for all of the FCCS graduates and their guests to continue the celebrations of the day.

Bryce Traister, Dean of FCCS raised a glass to toast this year’s graduating class and their families.

“This year we say farewell, congratulations, and thank you to a group of super talented and hardworking students across the faculty. We say farewell to one of the smallest groups of BFA grads in our history, even as we welcome one of the largest entering BFA cohorts in UBCO’s fourteen years. We congratulate our big award winners and our quiet achievers alike. Your commitment to the arts, to culture, your practices and your interventions are truly inspiring, and for that, you have our thanks.”

FCCS is also pleased to recognize the achievements of the following graduating or continuing students who received awards for their outstanding academic performance this year:

  • Mirabel Ankora, Art History and Visual Culture Scholarship
  • Evan Berg, Asper Graduating Prize; Norma and Jack Aitken Prize in Visual Arts; UBC Okanagan Visual Arts Award; Head of Class (BFA)
  • Megan Butchart, Kelly Curtis Memorial Scholarship in English
  • Nevada Christensen, Cultural Studies Scholarship
  • Selena Clark, Spanish Scholarship
  • Ayla De Grandpre, French and Spanish Scholarship
  • Eddy Duc Minh Dinh, Bachelor of Media Studies Scholarship
  • Bailey Ennig, Asper Scholarship
  • Josh Fender, Grizzli Winery Awards in Fine Arts Excellence
  • Amelia Ford, Jack and Lorna Hambleton Memorial Award
  • Angela Gmeinweser, Elinor Yandel Memorial Award in Fine Arts
  • Faye Ilsley, French Essay Prize
  • Elizabeth Izquierdo, Grizzli Winery Awards in Fine Arts Excellence
  • Miranda Mitchell, Creative Studies Transfer Prize in Creative Writing
  • Emily Moroz, French Scholarship
  • Brian Murphy, English Scholarship
  • Peter Navratil, Interdisciplinary Performance Scholarship
  • Jessica Peitsch, Creative Writing Scholarship
  • Sarah Polak, Grizzli Winery Awards in Fine Arts Excellence
  • Margaret Ann Richards, Craig Hall Memorial Visual Arts Scholarship in Printmaking
  • Amy Salter, Okanagan Visual Arts Scholarship; Grizzli Winery Awards in Fine Arts Excellence
  • Lark Spartin, Grizzli Winery Awards in Fine Arts Excellence
  • Sara Spencer, Doug Biden Memorial Scholarship in Visual Arts
  • Arianna Tooke, Visual Arts Scholarship; RBC Royal Bank Visual Arts Scholarship; Murray Johnson Memorial Award in Visual Arts
  • Noelle Viger, Dr. Shelley Martin Memorial Scholarship
  • Melissa Weiss, Creative Writing Prize
  • Aiden Wilhelmina de Vin, Asper Scholarship; Frances Harris Prize in Fine Arts
  • Zoe Wineck, German Canadian Harmonie Club Prize in German Studies
  • Angela Wood, Grizzli Winery Awards in Fine Arts Excellence

FCCS Faculty Margret Reeves and Janet MacArthur, this years Mace Barer

Bryce Triaster with BFA Medal in Fine Arts recipient Evan Berg and his mom, Mary Berg

MFA students Erin Scott, Nazanin Sahebnassagh and Richard Amante

Celebration with FCCS graduates

Bachelor of Arts students

Ramine Adl congratulating his student

MFA graduate Mariel Belanger with FCCS prof and supervisor, Virginie Magnat