Undergraduate Programs

Study what you love. Succeed in what you study. The rest will follow.

Why study the Humanities or Fine Arts today?

People who study things like English, Creative Writing, Cultural Studies, Art History, Languages, or the Fine Arts learn how to think creatively and critically. People who explore the humanities learn how to think insightfully about pretty much everything, which is one reason why they are in high demand by employers in so many fields. If reading, writing, and the arts are your passion, that is the ultimate reason for taking this path.

We are proud to offer innovative experiential learning opportunities that transform our students into global citizens who make positive contributions to communities close to home and farther afield. Our students become proficient in building bridges of understanding and mutual development across the world.

Degree Programs & Study Options

FCCS offers undergraduate programs leading to Bachelor of Arts degrees, a Bachelor of Fine Arts and a Bachelor of Media Studies.

The Faculty also offers more study options in which students can take courses in any of these areas as electives to complement their degree, and in some cases add a minor to the degree they are pursuing.

Forms and Resources

We have provided a number of forms, guidelines and helpful links for our students as they progress through their degrees.

Plan Your Degree

Find out more about courses and degree requirements for declaring your major or minor for your chosen program.

Student Advising

We are here to help. Our knowledgeable faculty members also work as program coordinators, advising and mentoring for prospective and current undergraduate students. Academic advisors and program coordinators can explain the academic requirements for our undergraduate programs, and give practical advise on your degree progression.

If you have any questions about a specific program, please contact the appropriate coordinator or academic advisor.

Program Coordinator   Contact information
Art History and Visual Culture Hussein Keshani hussein.keshani@ubc.ca
Creative Writing Matt Rader matt.rader@ubc.ca
Cultural Studies Kyong Yoon kyong.yoon@ubc.ca
English Marie Loughlin marie.loughlin@ubc.ca
Languages (French, German, Japanese, Spanish) Ramine Adl ramine.adl@ubc.ca
Interdisciplinary Performance/Theatre Denise Kenney denise.kenney@ubc.ca
Media Studies Stephen Foster bms.ok@ubc.ca
Visual Arts Briar Craig briar.craig@ubc.ca

In FCCS, we have a dedicated advisor for the programs and degrees that we offer.

Christine Squire
Academic Advising, UNC 207D
250.807.9469 or 1.866.596.0767
christine.squire@ubc.ca

The Academic Advising office also has a number of knowledgeable and helpful staff to assist you with all of your questions about your degree. Find out more…