Faculty Awards

Our faculty is committed to recognizing outstanding contributions to its teaching, research and service missions

Community Engagement and Service Awards

As part of our ongoing efforts to recognize contributions and excellence in a variety of areas, FCCS has established awards for members of the FCCS community. These awards present FCCS the opportunity to express gratitude for the contributions that advance our mission and the objectives of our strategic plan and to shine the spotlight on those contributions.

Community Engagement Award recognizes excellence in community engagement within the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies (FCCS). Community engagement is defined, in the context of this award, as an activity or activities that make a significant and positive impact on communities beyond the University.

Service Award  recognizes excellence in service within the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies (FCCS). Service is defined, in the context of this award, as significant and positive contribution to the work of a department, the Faculty, and/or the University.

Community engagement and service AWARD RECIPIENTS

Michael V. Smith (2017-2018)

Denise Kenney (2016-2017)

Myron Campbell (2015-2016)

Nancy Holmes (2014-2015)

Michael Treschow (2016-2017)

Marianne Legault (2015-2016)

Wendy Mohns (2014-2015)

Teaching Excellence and Innovation Awards

FCCS values teaching excellence as a fundamental pillar of its mandate. We pursue various initiatives that build on the distinguished record of instruction that our faculty members have garnered over the years and that ensure that our students have the highest quality of learning in our courses and across our programs.

These awards are designed to recognize faculty members for teaching approaches that develop experiential learning, interdisciplinarity, internationalization, undergraduate research and scholarship.


Claude Desmarais (2017-2018)

Myron Campbell ( 2016-2017)

Briar Craig (2015-2016)

Ramine Adl, Claude Desmarais, Alwyn Spies (2014-2015)


Shirley McDonald (2017-2018)

Shona Harrison (2016-2017)

Shirley McDonald (2015-2016)

Myron Campbell, Melissa Jacques (2014-2015)

UBC Teaching Honour Roll Recipients

Each year, UBC’s Okanagan campus recognizes outstanding professors with the Teaching Honour Roll.

FCCS Faculty Award Recipients


  • Briar Craig
  • Greg Garrard
  • Lisa Grekul


  • Allison Hargreaves
  • Marie Loughlin
  • Stephanie Tolman


  • Grisel Garcia-Perez
  • Allison Hargreaves
  • Carolina Restrepo