Printer-friendly > FCCS > Research & Teaching > Teaching and Learning

Teaching and Learning

FCCS values teaching excellence as a fundamental pillar of its mandate. We pursue various initiatives that build on the distinguished record of instruction that our faculty members have garnered over the years and that ensure that our students have the highest quality of learning in our courses and across our programs. On these pages, we recognize the pedagogical accomplishments of our faculty members and introduce you to some of our excellent teachers.

Awards and Recognition

FCCS Teaching Excellence and Innovation Awards

These awards are designed to recognize one faculty member for teaching excellence and one faculty member for teaching innovation each year within Creative and Critical Studies.


  • David Jefferess | Teaching Excellence
  • Anderson Araujo | Teaching Innovation
  • Hussein Keshani | Teaching Innovation
  • Francisco Peña | Teaching Innovation

Click here for more information on the 2013-14 award recipients.


  • Allison Hargreaves | Teaching Excellence
  • Karis Shearer | Teaching Innovation

Click here for more information on the 2012-13 recipients.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2013-14 academic year. Click here for more information.

UBC Teaching Honour Roll Recipients

Each year, UBC's Okanagan campus recognizes outstanding professors with the Teaching Honour Roll.


  • Martin Blum
  • Allison Hargreaves
  • Marianne Legault
  • Edmond Rivere
  • Jordan Stouck




  • Michael V. Smith



  • Grisel Garcia Perez
  • Lisa Grekul
  • George Grinnell
  • Nina Langton
  • Edmond Rivere
  • Alwyn Spies




Teacher of the Month

Each month FCCS highlights a faculty member who has been particularly successful or innovative in his or her teaching approaches and who were nominated for the FCCS Teaching Excellence or FCCS Teaching Innovation awards.



Computer Lab

Painting Studio

Spark Lab


Last reviewed shim5/26/2017 10:36:44 AM